Follow us on:
  Home > Classical / Contemporary > Composers
Classical / Contemporary
  Search Works
  Published scores
  LMIPC Library
  Lithuanian Music Link
  WNMM No. 18
Folk / World / Country
Pop / Rock / Urban

How to get to us

Julius Aglinskas

The works of Julius Aglinskas avoid clichés of the academic music. Like many of his peer composers who have not lived through political turmoil, Aglinskas shows tendencies towards the ideas of pluralism and individualism. His music does not serve as a platform for ideologies. On the contrary, from the very first piece, his compositions are imbued with something rather intuitive, exhibiting gestures close to those of the Anglo-Saxon music. At the same time they exude coldness and solitude. This aesthetic sentiment of melancholy does not, however, call for an excessive attention. The composer’s true self becomes evident in pieces composed in a meditative, ‘Feldman-esque’ fashion, injected with a dose of nostalgia. In his works based on repetition-of-the-same counting is nonessential and rhythm plays a minor role. It is an idiosyncratic and genuine expression of longing. The elements of structure obey, or are subjected to the acoustic status quo, without turning the piece into something concept-less and banal.

Edvardas Šumila

LMIPC Library:

Fragments for Symphony Orchestra (1.66 mb)
Sfairografia (1.14 mb)
Fragments for Two (1.39 mb)
The New Net in Two (1.22 mb)
© Lithuanian Music Information and Publishing Centre, A. Mickevičiaus 29, 08117 Vilnius, ph: +370 5 272 69 86. E-mail your questions / comments to [email protected]
All texts, photographs, logos, music and artwork are protected by copyright laws. They are free for promotional use but when referring to the materials please mention the author and source whenever it is known. When not specified, the source is the Lithuanian Music Information and Publishing Centre (LMIPC).